Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Account Ledger and Diary (Upstate New York)
Collection
Identifier: SC 01038
Scope and Contents
One bound volume that includes both an account ledger and a diary from a family in Upstate New York. The first part of the volume provides handwritten accounts for what appears to be a general store, while the rest of the volume contains a diary of daily life written by more than one person, maybe a family. The name Patterson seems to be featured in a lot of the diary entries and accounts. Some of the topics discussed in the diary section include trips taken, personal health, married life,...
Dates:
1886-1907; Majority of material found in 1890-1900
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Duval Family Ledgers and Diary
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.471
Scope and Contents
Ledgers, 1871-1887 and diary 1898-1900 of the Duval family of Chesterfield and Henrico Counties, Virginia. One ledger (item 1), 1871-1872 contains accounts for different customers for items like sugar, flour, candles, vinegar, etc., as well as cash accounts and a store inventory in the back of the volumes. The ledger for 1886-1887 (item 2) also contains a personal diary for the years 1898-1900 with very detailed entries. The ledger entries are summarized accounts...
Dates:
1871-1894
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Macon Family Manuscript Volumes
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad156-160
Scope and Contents
Manuscript volumes kept by several generations of the Macon family of New Kent ["Ingleside"] and Hanover ["New Castle"] Counties, Va. including William Hartwell Macon (1759-1843), Doctor William Hartwell Macon (1819-1891) and William Hartwell Macon (1850-1918). The volumes are four ledgers concerning farming and medical practice and a diary. The earliest ledger mentions William Macon (1725-1813). In addition to members of the Macon family, individuals and subjects mentioned in...
Dates:
1782-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sallie B. Taylor Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00647
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1898, of Sallie B. Taylor of Frenchtown, New Jersey. Primarily concerns her daily activities, which include time spent at work, sewing, events which she attends, and trips that she takes to see family and friends. Her trips take her to such places as Waldwick, New Jersey, to visit members of her family and New York City. There are also some ledger pages at the end of the volume which include lists of purchases Taylor made and their cost.
Dates:
1898
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. L. Teter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.783
Scope and Contents
Ledgers, letterbooks, diaries, and other material, 1878-1920s, related to W. L. Teter of Pennsylvania and Goshen, Virginia. Teter was an inventor and these volumes contain his expenses and sketches and descriptions of various inventions, as well as details about his personal life. Papers include stock certificates, clippings, genealogical notes, and other related material. There are also volumes, which include a book of drawings of W.L. Teter's patents, account books, copy books, and...
Dates:
circa 1878-1911
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center